Metal News

Filter by topic:
LAMB OF GOD To Release Self-Titled Album In May; Track Listing, Cover Artwork Unveiled
05 Feb 2020

Richmond, Virginia-based metallers LAMB OF GOD will release their new, self-titled album on May 8 via Epic Records in the U.S. and Nuclear Blast Records in Europe. The follow-up to "VII: Sturm Und Drang" will mark LAMB OF GOD's first recordings with Art Cruz, who joined the band last July as the replacement for the group's founding drummer, Chris Adler. The disc's first single, "Checkmate", will make its online debut tomorrow (Thursday, February 6).

"Lamb Of God" track listing:

01. Memento Mori
02. Checkmate
03. Gears
04. Reality Bath
05. New Colossal Hate
06. Resurrection Man
07. Poison Dream
08. Routes
09. Bloodshot Eyes
10 ...
KATATONIA To Release 'City Burials' Album In April
30 Jan 2020

KATATONIA, the Swedish purveyors of dark progressive rock/metal, will release their new album, "City Burials", on April 24 via Peaceville Records. The disc's first single, "Lacquer", can be streamed below.

Guitarist Anders Nyström commented: "In days and nights of black and silver, the dead-end king will come. From pieces of broken mirrors there will be a crown bestowed upon his head. In reflections of shattered glass not only the seasons will turn, but also the change disguised by the lapse of time. His mind will have to come to bear the weight of everything that was left behind and forgotten. Archiving the inaccessible. Celebrating the abandoned and mourning the destroyed. The ...
Former DEATH And CYNIC Drummer SEAN REINERT Dead At 48
25 Jan 2020

Sean Reinert, longtime drummer for progressive/technical metal pioneers CYNIC, has died. He was apparently found unresponsive at his California home Friday night (January 24). No cause of death has yet been revealed. He was only 48 years old.

Reinert was a founding member of CYNIC, along with guitarist/vocalist Paul Masvidal, and he remained in the group until September 2015.

In 1991, Reinert and Masvidal joined the legendary Florida band DEATH to record the "Human" album. After touring with DEATH, they returned to CYNIC.

1993 saw the release of CYNIC's debut album, "Focus", which is regarded as a landmark LP in the field of technical/progressive metal. After ...
NAPALM DEATH To Release 'Logic Ravaged By Brute Force' Digital EP
17 Jan 2020

After a highly successful year of international touring and continued work on a new studio album, U.K. grindcore pioneers NAPALM DEATH have announced a new seven-inch / digital EP to be released via Century Media Records on February 7. The release will kick off the start of the band's "Campaign For Musical Destruction" headline European tour alongside EYEHATEGOD, MISERY INDEX, ROTTEN SOUND and BAT.

The EP titled "Logic Ravaged By Brute Force" includes the brand-new title-track as well as a freshly recorded cover version of "White Kross", originally performed by SONIC YOUTH. This double-A-side EP is yet another NAPALM DEATH collectible item and is also meant as first teaser for the ...
NIGHTWISH Announces New Album, 'Human. :II: Nature.'
16 Jan 2020

Finnish/British/Dutch symphonic metallers NIGHTWISH will release their ninth studio album, "Human. :II: Nature." , on April 10 via Nuclear Blast. The long-awaited follow-up to 2015's "Endless Forms Most Beautiful" will be a double album containing nine tracks on the main CD and one long track, divided into eight chapters on CD 2.

"Human. :II: Nature." was recorded from August to October 2019 at Röskö campsite, Petrax Studios and Troykington castle, as well as Finnvox Studios, by Tero Kinnunen, Mikko Karmila and Troy Donockley. The mixing was done by Mikko Karmila at Finnvox, with Tuomas Holopainen and Tero Kinnunen. Mastering was done by Mika Jussila at Finnvox.

The t ...
RIP Neil Peart
10 Jan 2020

Neil Peart, the drummer and lyricist for Rush, died Tuesday, January 7th, in Santa Monica, California at age 67, according to Elliot Mintz, a family spokesperson. The cause was brain cancer, which he had been quietly battling for three-and-a-half years. A representative for the band confirmed the news to Rolling Stone.

Peart was one of rock’s greatest drummers, with a flamboyant yet utterly precise style that paid homage to his hero, the Who’s Keith Moon, while going well beyond that example. He joined singer-bassist Geddy Lee and guitarist Alex Lifeson in Rush in 1974, and his virtuosic playing and literate, wildly imaginative lyrics – which drew on Ayn Rand and science fi ...
Watch MY DYING BRIDE's Music Video For 'Your Broken Shore'
10 Jan 2020

British doom metal veterans MY DYING BRIDE will release their new studio album, "The Ghost Of Orion", on March 6 via Nuclear Blast.

The new MY DYING BRIDE record features a more accessible style compared to some of the band's past, highly technical releases. "The Ghost Of Orion" features compositions not only of epic proportions but of intimate quality too, from death metal vocals to the pained cries of a vocalist in longing. The LP will raise and fall like the beautiful landscape of Yorkshire in which it was recorded.

With layer upon layer of guitars both heavy and harmonic, Andrew Craighan has created a rich soundscape that is beautifully epic, enhanced with violins a ...
MAYHEM To Release 'Daemon' Album
12 Aug 2019

Norwegian black metal veterans MAYHEM will release their sixth studio album, titled "Daemon", on October 25.
By the power of darkness and with the might of black-hearted will no two MAYHEM albums have been or will ever be the same. Over the course of MAYHEM's storied and groundbreaking 35-year career — from "Deathcrush" (1987) through "Esoteric Warfare" (2014) — the Norwegians have continuously challenged the orthodoxy of the genre they helped create. Originally informed by greats HELLHAMMER, VENOM, BATHORY and SODOM, MAYHEM eventually imbued its damnable attack with influences from all over the music extreme spectrum, indicated first on the harsh and angular "Wolf's Lair Abyss" ( ...
Listen To New OPETH Song 'Heart In Hand'
12 Jul 2019

"Heart In Hand", a new song from Swedish masters of progressive heavy rock OPETH, can be streamed below. The track is taken from the band's 13th album, "In Cauda Venenum", which will be released on September 27 via Moderbolaget / Nuclear Blast Entertainment.

Recorded last year at Stockholm's Park Studios, "In Cauda Venenum" will be released in two versions, in both Swedish and English languages. Various physical and digital formats will be available.

Commenting on the new song, vocalist/guitarist/songwriter Mikael Åkerfeldt says: "'Hjärtat Vet Vad Handen Gör' or 'Heart In Hand' as it's called in English is one of the first couple of songs I wrote for 'In Cauda Venenu ...
CATTLE DECAPITATION To Release 'Death Atlas' Album In November
12 Jul 2019

San Diego-based deathgrind masters CATTLE DECAPITATION will release their new album, titled "Death Atlas", on November 29 via Metal Blade Records. The disc was once again recorded at Denver's Flatline Audio with producer Dave Otero.

Otero stated about "Death Atlas": "I am completely exhausted, but incredibly proud of the album we put together. I can assure you that no corners were cut, no details were overlooked, and that hard work was poured into every second of the record from start to finish. I can't wait to share it with the world."

CATTLE DECAPITATION vocalist Travis Ryan added: "It's been a grueling two months but we have something truly special to share with you ...